How Do You Build A Marketing Portfolio?

Friday Edition

Magic Trick #29 for you -

Wow, I officially don’t understand beehiiv scheduling.

I have had another of those great mail lined up on a Friday evening pushed to a Saturday.

Might just breakup with beehiiv and jump to ConvertKit.

Eitherways, today I’ll talk about how to build a Marketing Portfolio.

Now - this could be to land a job or close a client.

Here’s how I have built mine. 14 pages. Of establishing yourself as someone who is the right fit for the role you are applying for.

Page 1 - Cover Page

Establish the theme & typography on the cover page.
Mine can be more creative & designed better.

Ideally, I would not suggest a picture of yourself here though.

You can have a separate page for your introduction.

Cover Page

Page 2 - Introduction Page

Establish who you are. A strong summary and an overall picture that makes the reader want to jump to the next page.

I have subtly used the arrow mark here.

This gets the readers curious about what is it that I want to show them next.

Remember, you are telling a story here.

Introduction Page

Page 3 - My Skills

I have listed down all my skills here.

Now, there’s a layer of depth in it. I say my skills are - Copywriting, Branding, Market Analysis & Sales

But then again I talk about what I know under each of them.

For example, I can write social media copy, direct response copy & brand copy.

This shows that I have a strong understanding of my skills.

My Skills

Page 4 - Tools I Can Use

Not the best one to attract potential clients but recruiters will love you for this.

I have added all the tools I have an understanding of.

If you notice all of them, you’ll see it has a mix of graphic software, content management systems, video editing, analytics, advertisements etc.

And honestly, these tools will not take a lot of time for you to learn.

25 days and you’ll get the hang of 90% of these.

Tools I Can Use

Page 5,6,7,8 - My Brands On All Platforms

These pages are my social proof.

Building an audience is what sells. To the recruiter. To your ideal client.

Moreover, this shows that I have a diverse understanding of a lot of platforms.

And can work on multiple platforms at the same time.

You’ll also notice that each of these pages has a hyperlink attached. The link takes them to my profile.

My Brand On LinkedIn

My Newsletter

My Brand On X

My Work On Instagram

Page 9 - My Work

A simple work portfolio is here.

This covers every skill I mentioned earlier.

Bunch of plans & strategy, case studies and speaking gigs (shows you are an expert)

The hyperlinks take you to a Google drive where all documents, pictures, and graphics are uploaded.

My Work

Page 10,11 - My Results

This page is the final nail in the coffin.

Yes, a lot of people work. Yes, a lot of people create strategies.

But how do I promise that it will work?

By showing that it has already worked somewhere.

Nothing better than showing big numbers.

My Results #1

Page 12 - My Biggest Wins In 2024

This page establishes my goals and also puts in perspective on how ambitious anyone can be.

This page promises the reader that they can dream with you.

Reassures them that you are the person for the work.

My Biggest Wins In 2024

Page 13 - What People Say About Me

Finally, a page filled with praise.

Recommendations or testimonials push people to come to you.

Because someone did and had a great experience.

And your ICP or recruiter feels it in their bones that they would have a similar experience.

What People Say About Me

Page 14 - Final Page

I have seen 100s of portfolio pages ending with meaningless quotes, just a picture or blank.

My honest suggestion?
Be honest.

An authentic voice is always attractive.

Final Page

2 things I missed to put on the document -

1/ Adding my contact details on the Final Page
2/ Direct examples of my work on the PDF

Could be more. But this is what I could come up with it.

P.S. - What do you think about this portfolio?

We are on a run to make this newsletter the next James Clear. Help us get there by recommending this one. We’ll shower you with love all your life.

Achyuta & Vihangi

Reply

or to participate.