How To Write Hooks

Week 6

Magic Trick #6 For You -

Before I start, apologies if this reaches late to your inbox.

I just realised after 12 hours, that my newsletter never kissed your inbox. Scheduled it for 6:30 AM IST on a Saturday instead of 6:30 PM IST on a Friday.

Oopsies, hope you forgive me.

Well, my magic trick this week is worth it.

Here we go -

This is the only way I write hook.

  1. Choose an emotion

  2. Go extreme with it

  3. Write what triggers it in 10 words max

I’ll show you how -

A. Write a hook on - Copywriting Tips for Newcomers

→ Emotion - Fear

  • Hook - Newbies, I have your survival guide to copywriting.

→ Emotion - Urgency

  • Hook - This is your last chance to get beginner copywriting tips.

→ Emotion - Surprise

  • Hook - You won’t believe how easy it is to start copywriting.

→ Emotion - Anger

  • Hook - Is copywriting overrated? Let’s find out.

→ Emotion - Intrigue

  • Hook - Here’s 7 tips to unlock copywriting success.

Play with this.

And you’ll be a hook master soon.

This Week - My Life

Life is beautiful here at Birmingham. Well, Birmingham. Life is cooking food, feeling cold, be in awe of the campus and studying.

I unfortunately could not get the UNICEF position. Hard luck. I did my best though. Still excited to be a UNICEF member.

I also applied for a $1200 bursary. Just got a rejection mail a while back. Had submitted my best application ever.

This just shows the quality of students here. People I am meeting on a daily basis.

Some genius. Some hardworking. Everyone with something to learn from.

Gets me excited always.

→ I did form a Copywriting Society in the university. There’s still a long tedious process to follow to officially get registered but I am looking forward to it.

→ I got the opportunity to deliver a seminar to a packed house on Personal Branding and LinkedIn here at the Uni. WHAT. AN. EXPERIENCE.

→ I am applying for a Future Leader’s Cohort here at the university for the Business School. Only 50 get selected in a batch of 5000 brilliant students here. Will keep you all posted.

→ Officially going to celebrate my first halloween on the 25th here at a pub with 1500 people. Booked my tickets, finding a costume.

→ Have a football match this Sunday, 8:00-9:00 AM. The weather forecast says it’ll be 1•C

→ Delivering a seminar on “How to slay with hooks” on Sunday too. Here’s the registration link if you are interested.

And well, I have a lot of work to do on assignments and paperwork here in college. Jam packed week.

See you all soon.

Track LinkedIn with Me -

  • Post impression 4.8% drop. So there is progress, but probably because I posted 8 times this week and I am changed back my timing of the post back to 9.30 AM IST. Hopefully, the impression gets back to normal for me.

  • Total followers → Increase by 2.3%. Highest increase WoW for a while. Maybe because my Indian followers recognise me posting at the time again. There’s increase in all stats from last few weeks. Boy, changing your post timings is hard and rough

  • Profile Views → My profile view is at 3850. But I am backing myself to get a good number next few weeks. My CTA has been on my Newsletter and I might shift it to viewing my profile.

  • Search appearances → 703 is not bad but not great as well. I have taken a hit. This will remain near the 850ish and around this month until I change something. Moving to carousel based content is one idea.

Achyuta’s Recommendation List -

→ Movie - Tenet

→ Song - destroyer of worlds by Aaron Hibell

→ Book - 100M Offers by Alex Hormozi

→ Favourite quote -

There's nothing as exciting as a comeback - seeing someone with dreams, watching them fail, and then getting a second chance.

Rachel Griffiths

5 Posts That Made Me Go Awe This Week -

Reply

or to participate.